Della – Placed


Meet Della!

*Della just turned 6.  We are hoping to find a new adoptive home for Della that has no other children under age 9, no special needs children, and a current (or easily updated) home study.  Della is a homebody who prefers a calm, consistent routine.  Write to [email protected] for her full profile if you fit our requirements and are interested in learning more about her adoption.

Della’s adopted family tells us that she is helpful and polite.  She has great table manners and likes to keep her environment picked up and clean.  She enjoys playing outside—especially swinging, swimming (she is fearless in the water!) and sledding.  Her favorite indoor activities include playing with baby dolls, magna tiles, playdoh, and coloring.  She is skilled at cutting, gluing and using paints and stickers, and likes to make things to give as gifts.  She has a funny sense of humor when she is relaxed.  She likes to help around the house with family chores, especially when it’s a responsibility like loading/unloading the dishwasher, washing windows, matching socks or helping prepare a meal.  Della has a strong sense of fairness and is willing to share if she sees another child is upset or not getting a fair share of something. She often asks for extras of a prize at therapy or the doctor’s office so she can share with her siblings at home.  She also notices crying babies in public and wants to be reassured they are being well cared for.  Della sometimes struggles to recognize what emotion she herself is feeling, but is quick to notice when others are sad or upset and often acts with empathy toward them.  When Della feels secure and unthreatened, she is a very fun child to be around.  She enjoys calm instrumental or folk music and you can often hear her singing to herself as she plays.

Della is an adventurous eater and is happy to try just about anything including spicy or ethnic dishes.  She is great about eating fruits and veggies and has been working hard at mastering cutting up her own food.  She has food allergies including wheat, dairy, eggs, almonds, soy, peanuts and codfish.  She does not have any severe physical reactions but removing these from her diet helps behavior and concentration, especially at school.  Della is in Kindergarten and enjoys school.

This is a private adoption, so a state or foster home study might not work. A state authorized private domestic or international home study is generally required. Due to state laws, we are not able to place this child in CT, MA, OR or DE.   If you have never had a homestudy before, we cannot help you adopt this child.  But, we would love to share with you the process of starting a homestudy so you could be approved for a child in the near future.  Please write to us and ask us how to get started!

Adoption is a legal process so there will be costs associated. This adoption qualifies for the IRS Adoption Tax Credits.

Contact us at [email protected]

*To protect the privacy of our waiting children and their families, Second Chance does not share real names for our waiting children on the Internet.  It is our policy to only share a snippet of a waiting child’s details as well as the type of adoptive family we are looking for.  If you fit the POSTED REQUIREMENTS, are home study ready (or can be soon!), and interested in adding this child to your family, please write to us for an honest, in-depth profile on the child including medical, educational, and behavioral information and learn the full story of why this child needs a secondary adoption.  Our program social worker and program director have worked together with the child’s family to carefully set the requirements for the new family.  These requirements are not negotiable, so please honor the needs of this child by not asking us to bend them for you.


©2021 Wasatch International Adoption. All rights reserved. Site designed by PDM


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?