Wasatch International Adoption

Myrick – Placed

Description

Meet Myrick!

*Myrick was adopted from the Democratic Republic of Congo in June 2016 by a single woman.  He is 6 years old.

His adoptive mom was in process to bring him home for more than 3 years (adoptions in Congo were put on hold and no one knew if/when the children would ever be released to their new adoptive families).  In the three years since the adoption was put on hold, his adoptive mom has moved into her aging parents’ home to care for them.  One of her parents has dementia and PTSD from Vietnam service.  The other is aging and not able/willing to handle a young active boy.  Since bringing Myrick home, they have realized that their home is not a good environment for a young boy, and have contracted with us to help find a more suitable home VERY FEW additional records we have on him. He has been home from Congo for barely a month, so we have hardly anything for him, no school records, dr. records, etc.  He seems extremely typical of a child his age.  To tell you the truth, this child does not appear to have any behavioral needs.

Very little is known about Myrick’s very early life.  He was relinquished to an orphanage at age 2 by a woman who said she found him abandoned as a newborn.  She wanted to keep him and raise him, but when he was 2 she realized she wasn’t able to continue caring for him.

Myrick’s adoptive mom shared with us that he is adventurous, active, curious, smart, silly, independent, friendly and helpful.  He likes to please others and make them happy.  He’s been working on chewing with his mouth closed, and will often point to his mouth when eating, to show them that he is remembering to eat politely.  He likes to do chores around the house.  He is happy most of the time, his adoptive mom says.  When he is unhappy or sullen, it’s usually because he didn’t get his way with something.  Sometimes he’ll lie down on the floor and cry and grunt quietly.  Eventually he stops and will bounce back to his happy self.  These episodes only last a few minutes.

Myrick is quickly picking up English.  He spoke Lingala before coming to his adoptive home.  He is repeating many words and can follow instructions easily.  He is a fast learner, and already knows all of his colors and body parts; he can recite and sing the alphabet, as well as recognizing all the letters.  He can count to 20 and do some basic addition.  He recently spent time looking at a shopping list written in cursive and was trying to copy the writing on his own.

Twice he’s come home from the babysitter’s house with things that don’t belong to him.  One was a watch he was wearing, which he nicely returned.  The other was a cell phone—which he didn’t want to return because he was having so much fun playing on it.  They don’t think he understands that this is considered stealing, and neither time did he attempt to hide what he took.  They have never caught him lying about anything.

Myrick gets along really well with the other kids at the sitter’s house.  Sometimes he’s rowdy, but remember he’s only 6 years old!  He played nicely with both older and younger kids at a recent family event.  He is kind and respectful to his grandparents who live in the same house as he and his adopted mom.  He also has a good relationship with his older (not adopted) brother who is 15.

Myrick eats very well and is not picky.  He loves chicken and rice the most, but is asking for it less now and trying new foods.  He does not have any hording or gorging issues.

Myrick is good with animals, although he follows the dogs around and pesters them—much like a child who has not been around animals much and finds them very interesting.

He has never been on any medications other than an OTC allergy medication—he seems to have seasonal allergies, but the OTC med has helped stop those symptoms.  He has no medical diagnoses—he is scheduled for his first well-child checkup at in a few weeks (end of July), so we will have those records available to you then, if you write us asking for his additional records).  His adoptive mom works in the medical field and doesn’t anticipate there being any medical issues uncovered at this appointment.

Myrick’s adopted mom says he’s a great traveler too, they recently went on a weekend vacation and he spent 8 hours in the car.  He was content to look out the window and enjoy the ride.

Myrick doesn’t have any trouble sleeping—he sleeps a good 9-10 hours each night and does not fight going to bed.  He wears a pull up to sleep, as he is wets the bed several times a week.  If he’s wet in the morning, he will put his pull up straight into the trash as he has been asked to do.

This little guy especially loves music and art.  Drawing is one of his favorite things.  We’ve included several of his pieces of art in this profile if you scroll down to the end.  He also likes to do puzzles and watch Spiderman cartoons.  He also loves to play outside.  He wants to learn to ride a bike, but they haven’t bought one yet that is his size.

This young boy will be a wonderful addition to an adoptive family.  He doesn’t have any of the behaviors we so commonly see with children who come into our program.  This is simply a case of unexpected changes in the life of the adopted mom who never thought the adoption would actually proceed.  She realizes that Myrick’s best chance for a good home life is to be adopted right away into a family who can provide him the love and attention he deserves.

We are excited to work with you to make Myrick a part of your family through adoption.  Please write back to us for his additional info if you think you can provide the family he deserves.

See his art below.  Please click these links to see video of Myrick:

https://youtu.be/ibrmniOlylU             https://youtu.be/4GV72Y2-Odg

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2FSUJ10V8fM

Email [email protected] and ask for his additional information.

We will not place a Second Chance child into a home that already has children within 2 yrs of the new child’s age.  We would also like for Myrick to be the youngest in his new family, so this means no other children in the home under age 8.

This is a private adoption, so a state or foster home study might not work. A state authorized private domestic or international home study is generally required. Due to state laws, we are not able to place this child in CT, MA, NY or DE. If you live in FL, please let us know, as there may be additional costs.

Adoption is a legal process so costs for the adoption are $200 application fee, $3500 agency fee, a lawyer in your state for ICPC and finalization ($2000-$3000) and travel to his state for a couple days to bring him home. This adoption qualifies for the IRS Adoption Tax Credit.

Contact us at [email protected]

*not this child’s real name; we always protect the identities of our children

The information contained herein and any attachments received about this child, are intended for the recipient’s use only. This information is protected by federal and state confidentiality laws and cannot be published or posted in any manner whatsoever on any public forum such as Facebook, twitter, public blogs or in any private forum such as private blogs, emails, etc. Any unauthorized use or sharing of this information by its recipient could result in immediate civil and/or criminal prosecution.

 

Category:

CONTACT US

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Sending

©2018 Wasatch International Adoption. All rights reserved. Site designed by PDM

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?